Menu Close

About the Democritus University of Thrace

The Democritus University of Thrace was established in 1973 with the Legislative Decree 87/73. It is a public university which was named after Democritus, the ancient philosopher who was born in Abdera, Thrace. The Schools and Departments of the Democritus University of Thrace are located at four Thracian cities: Alexandroupolis, Komotini, Orestiada and Xanthi. The Rector’s Office of the University is situated in Komotini. Specifically, the Democritus University of Thrace is currently comprised of twenty (20) Departments organized in eight (8) Schools.




School of Health Sciences


1. Department of Medicine,

2. Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics

School of Education Sciences


1. Department of Primary Education,

2. Department of Education Sciences in Early Childhood

School of Law


Department of Law

School of Physical Education and Sport Sciences


Department of Physical Education and Sport Sciences

School of Classics and Humanities (Komotini)

1. Department of History and Ethnology

2. Department of Philology

3. Department of Languages, Literature and Culture of the Black Sea Countries

School of Social, Political and Economic Sciences


1. Department of Social Administration,

2. Department of Social Work,

3. Department of Political Science,

4. Department of Economics

School of Engineering


1. Department of Civil Engineering

2. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

3. Department of Environmental Engineering

4. Department of Architectural Engineering

5. Department of Production and Management Engineering

School of Agricultural and Forestry Sciences


1. Department of Agricultural Development

2. Department of Forestry and Management of the Environment and Natural Resources

School of Education Sciences

The School of Education Sciences was established in 1998. It includes two Departments: (a) The Department of Primary Education and (b) The Department of Education Sciences in Early Childhood.